Date(s) of Performance

5/7/2011 - 5/8/2011

Directed by

Herschel Garfein

Created by

Music by Fred Hersch


Speaker/Singer: Michael Winther (Fred,Scott,and others); The Fred Hersch Ensemble: Ralph Alessi, trumpet/flugelhorn; Mike Christianson, trombone; Steven Lugerner, oboe,clarinet,alto sax,bass clarinet; AdamKolker, flute,clarinet,tenor sax; Joyce Hammann, violin; Laura Seaton, violin; Ron Lawrence, viola; Dave Eggar, cello; John Hébert, bass; John Hollenbeck, drums/percussion; Fred Hersch, piano; Gregg Kallor, conductor


Does one sleep FRED HERSCH perchance to dream? In a production shaped by simultaneous realities (hospital and coma), the dreamiest jazz composer of our time, Fred Hersch, will debut a full-length work for 11 instruments (trumpet, trombone, clarinet/alto sax/bass clarinet, tenor sax/flute, string quartet, piano, bass, drums/percussion) as well as a speaker/singer. Inspired by the dreams he remembers after two months in a coma in 2008, Fred Hersch (Leaves of Grass), in collaboration with Herschel Garfein (Elmer Gantry librettist) and Sarah Wickliffe, will reveal the dark matter of his own life—and ours, too.


Theatre and Performance Studies



Brochure / Program (242 KB)

Download Image (712 KB)

My Coma Dreams



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.