Date(s) of Performance



Shanghai Quartet


Violinists: Weigang Li, Yi-Wen Jiang; Violist: Honggang Li; Cellist: Nicholas Tzavaras


Ever since Franz Josef Haydn developed the modern version of a string quartet in the mid-18th century, the most daring and innovative practitioners of the art form has to be Béla Bartók. In this special double program, the Shanghai Quartet flexes its musical muscles by performing the complete Bartók quartet cycle. Written over a 30-year span, Bartók’s six quartets stand as a sonic biography of one of the 20th century’s most enigmatic and essential composers.


Music Performance | Theatre and Performance Studies



Brochure / Program (324 KB)

Download Image 1 (758 KB)

Download Image 2 (554 KB)

Additional Information

Shanghai Quartet

To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.