Date(s) of Performance

1/21/16 - 1/24/16

Directed by

Michel van der Aa

Created by

Libretto after Fernando Pessoa, adapted by Michel van der Aa


Actor: Samuel West; Violins: Patti Kilroy, Laura Lutzke, Lauren Cauley, Hanna Hurwitz; Violas: Margaret Dyer Harris, Ben Russell, Victor Lowrie; Cellos: Clarice Jensen, Mariel Roberts; Bass: Kris Saebo; Flute: Andrew Rehrig; Clarinet: Paul Won Jin Cho; Bassoon: Charles Bailey; Trumpet: Mike Gurfield; Percussion: Chris Thompson; On film: João Reis, Ana Moura, Sara Ramadinha Pereira, David Pereira, Rogério Tavares, Miguel Corte-Real


Michel van der Aa’s music theatre work, The Book of Disquiet, was the first staged production in Linz’s Cultural Capital of Europe celebrations in January 2009. Following his opera After Life, which enjoyed a sell-out run at the Holland Festival in 2006, van der Aa again provides cutting-edge integration of music, live action and video, here built from text fragments by Fernando Pessoa.


Theatre and Performance Studies



Download Brochure/Program (486 KB)

Download Image 1 (2.0 MB)

Download Image 2 (1.3 MB)

Download Image 3 (582 KB)

Download Image 4 (834 KB)

Download Image 5 (1.4 MB)

Download Image 6 (880 KB)

The Book of Disquiet