Date(s) of Performance



The Crossing, International Contemporary Ensemble

Directed by

Conductor: Donald Nally

Created by

David Lang, Caroline Shaw, Ted Hearne


The Crossing: Katy Avery, Nathaniel Barnett, Julie Bishop, Karen Blanchard, Steven Bradshaw, Colin Dill, Micah Dingler, Robert Eisentrout, Ryan Fleming, Joanna Gates, Dimitri German, Steven Hyder, Michael Jones, Heidi Kurtz, Chelsea Lyons, Rebecca Myers, Becky Oehlers, Jack Reeder, Alissa Ruth, Daniel Schwartz, Rebecca Siler, Daniel Spratlan, Elisa Sutherland, Shari Wilson; International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE)- Violin: Josh Modney, Salley Koo; Viola: Wendy Richman; Cello: Chris Gross; Double Bass: Lizzie Burns; Conductor: Donld Nally; Keyboards: John Grecia; Music: David Lang, Caroline Shaw, Ted Hearne


Where does patriotism end and nationalism begin? Are there universal values that transcend national borders? The Crossing, hailed as an “ardently angelic” chamber choir by The Los Angeles Times, considers these difficult questions with works by three powerhouse composers: Pulitzer Prize winners David Lang and Caroline Shaw and Pulitzer Prize finalist Ted Hearne. The strings players of ICE (International Contemporary Ensemble) magnify the impact of this stirring and timely concert.


Theatre and Performance Studies



Brochure / Program (745 KB)

Download Image 1 (2.6 MB)

Download Image 2 (11.7 MB)

Download Image 3 (1.2 MB)

Download Image 4 (592 KB)

Download Image 5 (546 KB)

Download Image 6 (211 KB)

Additional Information

The National Anthems : Music of Lang, Shaw and Hearne

To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.