Sphinx Virtuosi : For Justice and Peace


Sphinx Virtuosi : For Justice and Peace

Date(s) of Performance



Sphinx Virtuosi


Violin I: Patricia Quintero Garcia, Clayton Penrose-Whitmore, Rubén Rengel, Chelsea Sharpe; Violin II: Brendon Elliott, Alex Gonzalez, Allison Lovera, Emile Mettenbrink; Viola: Caleb Georges, Andrew Gonzalez, William Neri, Robert Alvarado Switala; Cello: Angel Miguel Hernández, Erica Snowden-Rodríguez, Caleb Vaughn-Jones, Francisco Vila; Bass: Xavier Foley, Christopher Johnson


One of the nation’s most dynamic chamber orchestras, the Detroit-based Sphinx Virtuosi makes its Peak Performances debut with a program driven by issues of social justice. Comprising 18 prizewinning Black and Latinx soloists, the performance includes a new composition and inspiration for the title of the program by Xavier Foley, Philip Herbert‘s requiem for a life lost to violence, Jessie Montgomery‘s homage to African-American artists in the Civil Rights era, Michael Abels‘ ode to the well-being of earth, and more. With “immeasurable power, unwavering command, and soulful beauty” (The Washington Post), these talented young artists address our current moment with a sensitivity and clarity that points toward peace.


Theatre and Performance Studies


Download Sphinx Virtuosi Program (3.2 MB)

Download Sphinx Virtuosi Promo Image (1.3 MB)

Download Sphinx group portrait (6.7 MB)

Additional Information


Sphinx Virtuosi : For Justice and Peace